a marriage of equals

patricks_weddingThis weekend, two wonderful friends got married. The dynamic trio from Joe’s program–he & two friends who were groomsmen in our own wedding–are all married, each standing as witness for the others. Since our wedding, I’ve noticed that I become hyperemotional watching wedding ceremonies.

This one, from the adorable location to the spot-on readings, was intimate, moving & filled with so much of the two getting married. The readings started with Shakespeare’s Sonnet 116, then nearly had my crying through T.S. Eliot’s A Dedication to my Wife. But then…

Before saying their traditional wedding vows, their third & final reading was a Celtic wedding vow by Morgan Llywelyn. I can’t even begin to tell you how perfect everything about this reading is for the couple, but it also resonated so deeply with me–with things I’ve been packing & unpacking like the boxes of our move this summer.

You cannot possess me for I belong to myself
But while we both wish it, I give you that which is mine to give
You cannot command me, for I am a free person
But I shall serve you in those ways you require
and the honeycomb will taste sweeter coming from my hand.

I pledge to you that yours will be the name I cry aloud in the night
and the eyes into which I smile in the morning
I pledge to you the first bite of my meat and the first drink from my cup
I pledge to you my living and my dying, each equally in your care
I shall be a shield for your back and you for mine
I shall not slander you, nor you me
I shall honor you above all others, and when we quarrel we shall do so in private
and tell no strangers our grievances.

This is my wedding vow to you.
This is the marriage of equals.

It was another wonderful wedding, another happy trip back to St. Louis, another reminder that I share my life with someone who can see more of me & still love me more than any other person in this world. This guy. Even after three years of marriage, we can’t coordinate a picture to save our lives.

wedding

I hope you take a few moments to enjoy these readings as much as I did.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

