the something for everyone round-up

EGmacaron5We move in eight days. With a trip back in St. Louis this weekend, that means days are filled with frantic moving phone calls, working out to gain last-minute moving endurance, eating as many condiments & weird things in the cabinets as possible, & in general freaking out about life.

So, to distract myself, here are some fun things to read.

Workin’ it

A while ago, the New York times had this seven-minute scientific workout. It’s good times–or rather, it’s not. It’s a workout. But seven minutes later, you’re ready to eat a pint of ice cream & feel completely justified. This is how calories work, right?

You guessed it. I’m finally getting back to that summer goal of working out on a regular basis–something I am n o t o r i o u s l y bad at. The plan: kick the day off with a nice, set-the-tone, calming yoga session in <20 minutes, like this 15-minute morning yoga sequence, then do ab stuff at night. Then ice cream.

Macarons, Macaroons & History

Joe & I have started planning for our next trip to France–years from now, but you have to start saving. Because plane tickets are gross. France had been on my mind a lot when a friend sent this NY Times article about macarons my way. Heck yes, macarons are timeless. Like the little black dress of the pastry world, but even more exciting & versatile & wonderful & perfect in every way.

Clarification: Macarons are light “sandwich cookies” made with almond flour. Macaroons are those coconut ball things. Wikipedia says they’re basically the same thing. I disagree. Wikipedia says they were originally made in France or Italy. I disagree. Okay, maybe Italy did the coconut thing. Nancy, our home when we were living in France, is the home of the original macaron–before they were sandwiched with filling. The NY Times article above confirmed this, plus gave a recipe for the original cookie.

(If you want to make some, I have two posts: a tea & honey macaron recipe or this other post just gushing about how awesome they are that shares a recipe I’ve used.)

Food Blogs

I know I just thinned out my inbox, but when I saw this post about the best food blogs–covering loads of ways we can talk about food–I was pretty excited. I loosely follow Mark Bittman, Michael Pollan, Food Democracy Now! & Food Politics, if you’re looking for a starting place.

Frances Moore Lappé has been writing about our food system(s) for decades and is best known for Diet for a Small Planet. She & her daughter Anna wrote “Who’s hungry now? The answer might surprise you…” about the state of hunger in the world. Read that, too.

Who’s vegan? Apparently barely no one. I mean, according to “real” vegans, you’re probably wrong if you think you’re vegan. Now, I’ve largely turned away from defining my diet as anything, because rules encourage you to break them. So, take that vegans I do what I waaaaant. Willy Blackwell has a nice, quick post with really interesting links about the rules (and semantics) of veganism: “You are only a true vegan when you die.

And in other news

This just made me really happy: “The littlest parks could make the biggest civic changes.” Because loads of groups, people & governments are doing lots of work like this, improving local environments to increase feelings of community & empowerment. This is real change, & it’s how we’ll ultimately push for change on a larger scale. Woohoo!

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in round-up and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

