the what-my-head-looks-like round-up

At the start of the summer, I was determined to use this three-month pause between programs to thin out my life. Remove the unnecessary weights, come back to center. Begin living more deliberately. I don’t tend to be a person that exudes peace or grace. It’s something I catch in myself, something I take quite seriously.

I’ve been gradually thinning out the junk of my body–taking more time for meals & tea, drinking more water, being more active, saying “no” when my body needs to rest. I’ve been thinning my to-do list, becoming less structured & allowing my days to flow more naturally. I’ve been, most recently & most difficult of all, reigning in the jealousy & negativity & comparison that really weighed me down most.

I firmly believe that if you open your self up & let yourself ask for big things, they’ll happen. Over the past few days,  I’ve been keeping these thoughts–that I need to leave the comparisons behind & that I need to be more open, even graceful–at the front of my mind. On different days & in various ways, people have thrown these articles in my path. They’re helping me let things go.

Happy reading.

I also, on an unrelated note, wanted to follow-up on the chickens. Turns out, hipsters don’t take all the blame: Lots of folks ordering chicks for their urban farm accidentally end up with roosters, whose noise often means they aren’t welcome in city limits.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in round-up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

