let’s call the whole thing off

When I initially started this blog, it was divided into three parts: 1/3 a love of French culture & baking, 1/3 a passion for feminism & thought on marriage, 1/3 a desire to live sustainably.

Over the past two years, I have gradually shifted in one direction. All food. All the time. Very much most of the time. Projects are started. I am distracted by other obligations. Projects die, none ever reaching completion. This wasn’t where we were meant to end up.

Over the past few days, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting. A lot is changing in the next few months, from our personal life to my work & volunteer life. My own writing has been struggling. As I push back toward journaling & nonfiction, I find myself torn–do I spend my free 20 minutes working toward publication, or building this space?

I had convinced myself to stop, to drop it. Let it go mid-summer and never return to francofile. Joe & I talked about it, and I realized how much I would miss it. But here’s the thing…

This blog was never supposed to tell you everything that Joe & I ate for a week. If that’s what’s drawn you here, I’m sorry. I hope you stay, & I hope future content is far more meaningful to you. If you’ve come for the Vegan Adventure, don’t worry. I’ve adapted that page; you can take the challenge whenever you like; I’d love to hear about your progress.

But I’m letting some things go. My creative nonfiction teacher in undergrad said to me, on a regular basis, that sometimes you have to kill your darlings. To get at what matters most–in an essay or work of any kind, really–you often have to kill the bits that you think you’re most attached to. A sentence you’re sure is profound but, in the end, adds nothing to the story. Or, in this case, the time-consuming but mindless cataloguing followed by frantic, often unoriginal recipe posts of this blog. They have become a distraction from this space’s real purpose: to share ideas, generate discussion & dig into what is most meaningful in my life.

So today, instead of posting week 29 of our meal tracker, I give you this post. I promise that from now on, this blog will have one to two quality posts per week–digging back into its roots of French food, happy marriage & strong womanhood. There will still be pictures. Still be recipes. Still be the Betzes struggling to nurture food from the clay soil of Indiana. There will be more story. I hope you’ll hang around.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in other aspects of my life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to let’s call the whole thing off

  1. I’m not going anywhere! So excited to see where this will go. ❤

  2. take the pressure off. You are a wise woman. Best!

  3. Pingback: slowing down | francofile

Leave a Reply

