powerhouse pancakes

powerhouse_pancake1Ages ago now, we spent a long weekend with a friend in Chicago–getting our visas in order for The Big Move. While there, we stopped at this heart-stealing restaurant called Heartland Café. I blogged about it–the funky vibe, the rooftop garden. The incredible pancakes…

These pancakes have been on. my. mind. When we found out some friends were moving to Chicago, we told them about how glorious Heartland Café is. I detailed the pancakes–filled with banana, peaches, walnuts & strawberries. Larger than my face.

So, when I had extra fruit salad (mandarins, bananas, apples) after an early morning group meeting, I decided that we’d be having pancakes for dinner. I got home from classes & started pulling out everything I could find in the cupboards. These ingredients are the result, pulled from across the Internet into reasonable proportions. The dough basically functions to hold all your shit together–and the other ingredients, well, they’re what I had. And I don’t feel like this meal is crazy unhealthy.

powerhouse_pancakes2Except for the chocolate chips, but it’s that time of the semester. When I pull out the chocolate, Joe knows not to ask questions & just go along with it. That smeary, messy picture is all that’s left from the meal. I don’t know about Joe, but I stuffed my face with these babies until I was sick to my stomach. Topped with peanut butter, they pack a punch. Lots of nutrients going on. It left me with loads of protein to power through my homework–hence the powerhouse title. Don’t even pretend that doesn’t make you feel better about this.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup vanilla whole milk yogurt (Let’s be real… use whatever yogurt you have 1 cup of)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 2 tablespoons of melted coconut oil (or butter, if you prefer–I had coconut oil)
  • 1 3/4 cups quick oats, pulsed into a flour in your food processor
  • 1/4 cup quick oats (to change up the texture)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 2 cups fresh fruit salad, made with whatever sounds best to you

Instructions

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients.
  2. In a second bowl, whisk together yogurt, eggs, melted oil & milk. Add to dry ingredients & stir to combine.
  3. Dump in fruit salad & walnuts (and chocolate, if you’re using it). Stir to incorporate, but don’t overly mix this around.
  4. Warm up your skillet up to slightly under medium heat; add another thin pat of oil or butter. Let it get melted & hot, then scoop this mess by the heaping half cup into your skillet. Spread a bit, then let it cook until golden. Flip & let cook another 2 minutes, until golden on both sides.
  5. For toppings, pick your poison. Joe used our apple cider syrup (since we’re out of maple). I opted for peanut butter. No one was complaining. Or talking. Or doing anything but chewing.
About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in not French recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

