pâtes en rose

pates_en_rose1I’ve long complained about not enjoying beets. And then, one day…

I liked them.

Now, could I eat that horrible French salade de betteraves (a salad of just beets)? Probably not. But I’m really enjoying roasted winter vegetables. I decided to take it to the next level, throwing together a dish that’s all the rage on the Internet. This flavor endlessly reminds me of France–I even found a French blog when I was looking to see if this way of using beets was popular there. As usual, they’ve given this dish a lovely name: pâtes en rose.

I liked their idea of adding tofu to make things a bit creamier–like a beet alfredo. Remember: I’m not eating meat for Lent… and we’re trying to limit spending, so when I had to pick between tofu & goat cheese, I made myself go with the tofu. Here’s the Betz version of pâtes en rose.

pates_en_rose2Ingredients

  • 3 medium-sized beets
  • 1 block firm tofu
  • 1/8-1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dill
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 lb. spaghetti
  • 1 cup of the pasta water

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In the meantime, clean your beets. Trim off any greens left & any scraggly ends & bits. Wrap the beets in aluminum foil & put on a baking sheet. Bake the beats for about 40 minutes, until you can easily poke through the beets with a fork.
  2. Peel back the skin of the beets or trim it away. (I peeled off about half, since it was a bit tough. The rest seemed fine, but I admittedly have no idea what that means–in any case, I didn’t taste it. Leaving it there didn’t ruin anything, and I’d given them a good scrub.)
  3. Bring a pot of water to boil & salt it well.
  4. Drain the tofu & drop it into your food processor. Add the dill, salt & pepper (I used about 1/2 teaspoon of each). Toss the beet into the food processor as well. Drizzle a bit of oil over top, then purée until smooth. Add a bit more oil to thin the sauce out, but don’t worry if it still seems quite thick–you don’t want more than 1/4 cup of oil.
  5. Drop your pasta into the water. Cook until al dente, according to package. Scoop out a cup of the pasta water; set aside. Drain the noodles. Add the sauce & reserved pasta water back to the pot & toss around. Pour your noodles back in on the sauce & toss well.
  6. Mangez. If being vegan isn’t important to you, throw serious amounts of goat cheese or Parmesan onto this bad boy.
About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being French and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pâtes en rose

  1. Pingback: week 13 | francofile

Leave a Reply

