what the weekend looked like

red_pandasThat was me on Friday afternoon, when I took a break from grant writing to answer a 5-minute phone call that may have changed my life.

I’ve been accepted into a PhD program at IU’s Department of Geography, where I am invited to research & write about the development of local food systems in the United States.

Research and write about food. Like, for money. Like, that’s what they expect me to spend my time doing. I’m sorry, what?

To celebrate, Joe went to play Settlers of Catan & I went to karaoke my heart out with a co-worker (celebrating my admission and the fact that I didn’t spend my Friday playing Settlers of Catan). #Boom #Roasted

Joe & I took it easy the rest of the weekend. We did a lot of homework, watched Downton Abbey (while doing homework), drank whiskey & gingers (while doing homework), looked for apartments & found some fun things on the Internet (while on homework breaks). Okay, I have no idea what Joe was really doing this weekend. But I was busy, obviously. Here’s what I found on the Internet…

1. Bees can sense the electric field of flowers. Now, if that isn’t the most magical shit ever, and if bees aren’t your #1 favorite animal (tied closely with those little red pandas) then I am dissolving our virtual friendship.

2. That obviously pushed me back in time to this MGMT song, whose lyrics I for sure thought were “shocked me like an electric field.” (Real lyrics: I said ooh girl / Shock me like an electric eel / Baby girl / Turn me on with your electric feel.)

3. Then that bizarre music video reminded me of Ferngully: The Last Rainforest.

cooking_quote4. These are some great food-inspired quotes. This one in particular I want to carve on my heart. (Huh? See? Too much Downton…)

5. This tumblr makes me feel better about my life. The original #whatshouldwecallme is the best way to spend the next 15 minutes of your time, if you haven’t seen it yet.

Sunday was a pretty magical day of homework, garden planning & finally cooking food after weeks of being a disgusting mess. More on that this Wednesday. For now, let’s just focus on the useless web.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to what the weekend looked like

  1. Nikki Wooten says:

    CONGRATS! Why didn’t you mention this at BCO? Wonderful news.

    • meganbetz says:

      Thanks! I get really awkward with attention & talking about myself, so I thought I’d just throw it on here & let everyone know at once 🙂

Leave a Reply

