week 6

v515_4Is this week over yet? Man, I think I’ve only been home to shower & sleep. This semester is like the Flight of Fear roller coaster at Kings’ Island: launched at crazy speeds & by no means a smooth ride.

I would just like to point out that this week, zero frozen or ordered pizzas were consumed. I made two pizzas. [Pats self on back.] Saturday meals were sort of a mess, with Joe eating leftovers & me eating all sorts of things at a retreat a Board I’m on. Then Sunday, I was really craving a potpie but wanted to exude zero effort–too much homework. So, I sent Joe to the store for groceries & frozen pot pies. Sunday night was–you guessed it–another dinner obligation.

I feel like I’m never home. And when I am, the last thing I want to do, and something I can’t even think about giving time to, is be in the kitchen. I never thought I’d get to that point, but let me tell you… I am there.

MENU

Breakfast: oatmeal with honey or smoothies

Meals:
Mon. lunch: pita & hummus, almonds & clementines
Mon. dinner:
vegan reubens & tortilla chips & a new episode of Girls (!!)
Tues. lunch: tarte flambée
Tues. dinner: quinoa-stuffed acorn squash
Wed. lunch: broccoli & carrot stir fry
Wed. dinner: homemade pizza
Thurs. lunch:
eggs & potatoes
Thurs. dinner:
homemade pizza
Fri. lunch: toasted bread with hummus & cheese with steamed broccoli
Fri. dinner: dinner with other farmers’ market workers, to celebrate the season

Snacks:
cookies & desserts from all the get-togethers last week, Bunny Grahams,

ORGANIC GROCERIES FROM THE CO-OP ($50)

eggs
kale
bell pepper
1 lb. bread flour
1 lb. oats
1 lb. all-purpose flour
sour cream
onions
potatoes
2 frozen burritos
frozen single-serving pot pie
shredded cheese
thick-cut bacon
broccoli

WASTE

  • plastic tubs from cheese
  • leftover desserts that went bad before we could eat them
  • plastic wrappers & a cardboard box for our frozen meal
  • aluminum cans from soup & tomato sauce
  • lots of glass from beer, wine, whiskey and other odds & ends we finished up this week
  • lots of compost
About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in budget update and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

