happy new year

I made my first gif ever! (A quick shot of our pre-holiay champagne-sipping.)

Congratulations for not dying in the Mayan apocalypse! Happy 2013, a few hours early! Thinking about the coming year has me so excited. Joe & I made major life strides: investing our time & money more responsibly, researching career opportunities, eating healthier. I can’t wait to see what the next year has in store. Things we know are coming: the completion of my studies, a move of some sort, large (expensive) life purchases, a better diet, less debt. More joy.

Each year, I tell myself I’ll stop making resolutions. But I can’t. More than anything, I crave that fresh start, whether it’s straightening up the apartment before my morning cup of coffee or putting the pen to a clean sheet of paper. This year, I’m taking a more realistic & optimistic approach to January, the Month of Dying Resolutions. No deadlines. No numbers. No hard targets.

Rather than focusing on strict resolutions, I’m simply resolving to be a more joyous, positive person. I’ve had a habit for while now of comparing myself to other people–feeling like I’m in some sort of life competition. It’s exhausting & self-defeating. And pointless. Over the course of 2012, I’ve started letting that go: eliminating sources of negativity, banning myself from blogs/sites/environments/bars that stir those feelings. I’ve become much less materialistic. I’ve begun measuring my life differently.

I want to further that growth in 2013. As we think about our next home, Joe & I are really looking for one thing: a space that feels light, open & bright. I’m taking that same approach to life through a more whole-foods diet with less animal products, which I’ve found drag my down & make me feel bloated, tired & defeated; through fewer impulse purchases while saving up for more long-term, meaningful buys; through “me time.”

My sister & I are setting some workout goals for ourselves, something we’ve both let go for years now. I know I said no numbers, but a big goal for 2013 is to give myself 20-30 minutes of time for meditation, yoga or more strenuous exercise. But I need serious help here: how do you all keep this time for yourself? I get so distracted–or allow myself to say I’m distracted & too busy when I’m really just too embarrassed or defeated–and go for months without giving myself this time.

I’m hoping this resolve–the will to live more simply & optimistically–brings better writing & deeper thoughts to this blog, and that you’ll have advice to offer as I start to fall back into the same old excuses.

What are your resolutions? If you opt out of resolutions, what has you looking forward to 2013? Enjoy the holiday. Make good choices. Stay safe. Forgive yourself for the party hangover you’ll have, and just let 2013 start at about 3 p.m. instead of 7 a.m. Just this once…

3.

2.

1.

Happy New Year! Cheers!

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in other aspects of my life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

