another monday

This is not the traditional Monday post. Warning: You will not learn a thing about sustainability today.

We need to just come to terms with the fact that, somewhere between my sophomore year of college & now, I began truly, madly, deeply failing at Mondays. I didn’t do the work I was supposed to do, but as usual I did accomplish some other things:

  1. WATCHING MAD MEN SERIOUSLY WHAT IS HAPPENING OMG I CAN’T EVEN BEGIN TO… wow.
  2. Reading this fascinating article about salt. No seriously. Gary Taubes dishes about the health benefits of this controversial ingredient.
  3. Using up greens in a kale-potato soup that I highly recommend. Just make your usual potato soup recipe. And then purée half of it with steamed kale. And then eat it with fresh bread & feel really good about your life choices.
  4. Realizing that I’m lactose intolerant. Not sure how to deal with this one, & I’ll post more about it later… but this is the first day in several weeks in which I have not consumed dairy. It is also the first day in several weeks that I have not had to lay down & take a quick nap because every movement made me want to vomit. I thought I was pregnant, then I thought I was having the worst bout of PMS of my life. Then I realized that I couldn’t remember the last time I just felt, well, good. So, I’m cutting back on animal products in a serious way.
  5. Working out. Did I mention that I registered for a 5k? That’s right. I’m going to learn to run a mile. And then, in the middle of summer’s hottest heat, I’ll run three of them. (Wu-huuuuut was I thinking?) But whatever. I’ll walk it. This is by far the coolest 5k in the world.
  6. Practicing the ukulele. That’s right! Finally! I’ve spent the last few days learning what “strum patterns” & “major chords” are. I’ve listened to “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” roughly 900 times. Next goal: a duet.

So. I did not work as much as I should have, but for the first Monday I can remember I feel good about life, she says, biting her nails as she looks at the long to-do list set for the days ahead. I hope your week started off well. See you Wednesday, where I’ll blog about tomorrow’s adventure: delivering our first hive of bees to the Orchard!

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in other aspects of my life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to another monday

  1. Lauren says:

    I want to run the Color Run so, so, so badly! We should totally sign up at meet in Indianapolis some time over the next few years.
    *wow, I sound like a 13-year-old.

    • meganbetz says:

      YES. I don’t know where we’ll be next year, but we’ll make it work. I’m trying to teach myself to run… not going well so far. (Done a mile all week.)

      • Lauren says:

        Couch25K really helped me work my way up to doing a couple of miles….they are reaaally, painfully slow miles, mind you.

Leave a Reply

