dépaysement

I missed the Wednesday post, & I apologize. I know you’ll understand. I also apologize for how frequently I’ve been nagging you about my busy-ness. How boring for you! I will no longer whine. C’est fini. Je te promets.

Joe & I have been doing that thing where we start thinking about the future. How to visit France. How to get to the East Coast. How to get PhDs. How, more pressingly, to get a new vehicle, a more permanent residence, a place to homestead. How to get full-time jobs & free ourselves of debt.

For some reason, this results in long conversations about France–the feeling of walking the streets, the passion for a more socially-conscious government, the markets. The je ne sais quoi. Maybe it was the joy of marriage’s first year, but our lives & mindsets still feel deeply connected to he place.

A while ago, I came across an article about 20 awesomely untranslatable words, among them dépaysement, “the feeling that comes from not being in one’s home country.” Though we spent just one year tucked away in France, the dull ache of dépaysement tugs at the pit of my stomach here just as it did while in France, aching at times for my parents’ backyard & at others for the grit of St. Louis.

Farther down the list of untranslation was l’appel du vide, the call of the void–the urge to jump into the abyss. This, I think, describes the coming life step more than most others–leaping into the things we want most from life, knowing the consequences & looking forward to each challenge.

Providing a soundtrack for all these feelings & conversations has been Brigitte, a sexy, racy, scandalous, innocent-sounding (but more than anything, French) duo. Enjoy.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being French and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

