an update on the egg dyeing

I mentioned Monday that I wanted to experiment was some natural egg dyes. Of all the assignments I should have been doing, this is what I decided on last night.

It was supposed to be easy. Put eggs & vegetables in a pot. Bring to boil. Reduce to simmer. Do something else for 15 minutes.

I’m only doing a few eggs at a time, so that I can have lots of colors. I peeled an entire bag of yellow onions & put them in a pot with four eggs. Twenty minutes later: gorgeous.

I thought I was on a roll.

I began tearing apart a red cabbage, layering leaves & eggs into the pot before filling it with water. Ten minutes later: white cabbage, gorgeous water. The eggs? Completely white. I mean, completely. I thought, Maybe it’s a magic process that somehow happens right at the end.

Twenty minutes later: White. Eggs.

Ok. No big deal. I’ll try the cold method. I’ll cool they dye, add vinegar & add the eggs. I mean, they’re already cooked, right? Perfect.

The dye cools. The vinegar is added. The eggs soak for an hour. Still. White. Eggs. Am I losing my mind? Is this not how they said to dye eggs?

I rinse the eggs & peel one to check for a nasty vinegar-cabbage taste. We’re still good, so I put another pot of cabbage on to boil. Here’s the cabbage dye trick:

  • lots of cabbage
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar

Bring to a boil. Simmer 30 minutes. Allow to cool completely, & remove the cabbagey bits. Pour over your eggs, so that they’re fully covered. Let them soak overnight.

Finally. A lovely, dusty blue. It seems like a lot of effort, but when you get the method right it’s easier than measuring all those tablespoons of vinegar & water! (Downside: your apartment smells like cabbage & boiled eggs. Joe & I were repeatedly accusing each other of… things. Open your winds.)

So, today I’ll be rolling out my sugar cookie dough (a minor to-do that got accomplished during the egg disaster) & having another go at royal icing, all while dyeing eggs with tumeric. My beet were a no-go, so I’m considering other color options. I think I’ll see what results I get with tumeric & chili powder. I’ll report back later today, with pictures of each color.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to an update on the egg dyeing

  1. Pingback: lent: the vegetarian returns | francofile

Leave a Reply

