yesterday, in the kitchen

Q: What does a grad student trenched in final projects make for dinner?

A: Vegetarian “chik’n” nuggets with Rice Dream mint pies for dessert.

No. Seriously. I spent all day preparing food for the week, so when dinner time came around I was tired of looking at any of the real food I’d made. It was grocery day, so on our quick trip to the storeĀ  I grabbed a box of Quorn nuggets. They were conveniently placed next to the ice cream clearance section, where Rice Dream sandwiches were on sale for A DOLLAR. Score.

I was skeptical of the mint pie. I’ve had soy yogurt–well, I opened one & tried to take a bite but gagged every time it neared my lips. Yuck. The smell, the tiny bit of taste I managed. But Rice Dream? If no one told you, you’d think it was dairy. It’s a great substitute for vegans & lactose-intolerant folks, or folks that just want something different.

How did we get here?

Yesterday, after a morning of running errands to get set for an event next Saturday, I came home & had several alarms going off in my head: we had no food (prepared); I have too much homework; Saturday is the least busy day of my week; buttermilk is going bad; I need to blog.

I put these in a cohesive order for you. At the time, they all seemed to pop up at once, leaving me a bit dizzy sifting through that & the page-long list of assignments I gave myself this weekend. As usual, I decided to focus on the food problem rather than the homework problem, setting myself to work making Virginia Willis‘s corn bread, my standby lentil stew (without meat) and tofu with zucchini & broccoli.

That corn bread took two cups of buttermilk. On Wednesday, while baking with friends, we’d used 1/2 cup. There still seemed to be loads in this container. What’s a girl who hates to waste expensive dairy products to do?

Bake another cake.

On Wednesday, my friends & I were in a summery mood. One brought raspberries along, & we set ourselves to making raspberry buttermilk cake from elly says opa. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare, 25 minutes to bake & 5 minutes to eat. An incredibly wonderful, speedy process–the kind of baking I need at this point in my life.

I’d love to tell you that I adapted this recipe & made it even more awesome. But I didn’t. I just found a bag of frozen cherries I’d saved from the summer, plopped them on top & was pretty proud of the resourcefulness. So, I’m not even going to list the recipe here. I’m sending you to Elly. Use whatever fruit you have on hand. Use a fork to eat it straight out of the pan. Then make more, because you’ll still have loads of buttermilk. As for me, I’d estimate I’m half way through the carton.

Happy Sunday.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in not French recipes, other aspects of my life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to yesterday, in the kitchen

  1. Pingback: lent: the vegetarian returns | francofile

  2. thebakeandbrew says:

    Oooh I love your second picture – it’s looks so romantic! And ohmygoodness, wonderful things happen when buttermilk is involved.

    • meganbetz says:

      Thanks! Now. Suggestions on new buttermilk recipes? I’m about caked out, which I didn’t think was possible… and I do NOT need to eat more pancakes!

Leave a Reply

