balance

I’m realizing that there are things I need to be okay with. Like really letting myself go when M&Ms are in the vicinity. Like only doing laundry once a month. Like letting dishes pile up & eating things that take 10 minutes or less to prepare.

Joe & I are being pulled in opposite directions lately, often times pausing only long enough to pass off truck keys. I’ve dedicated a portion of the afternoon to mapping out the end of my semester; the result was terrifying.

[Enter glass of wine & an afternoon of paper-writing with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in the background. Obviously, I fail at picking uplifting, calming movies.]

There are certain things that are helping us get through this time:

  1. the truest job of marriage: conversations that start at midnight, when we’ve both given up for the day;
  2. figuring out foods we can make for ourselves to save money, like hummus & bread in our second-hand bread machine (true joy #2: friends that give us appliances to help us live out our hippie dreams);
  3. stocking up…

As all of our serious financial hits happened right in time for good weather, we’re stocking up on things that will get us through the transition from academic year to summer seasonal work. That means stocking up on dried goods; wines that go on sale; high-energy snack foods, like almonds & peanut butter & pears. It even means using spring break to stock up on outdoor time.

Our town is wonderful this time of year. In fifteen minutes, we walk downtown & are surrounded by corner musicians, people outside sipping a beer, bicycles, people planning gardens full of heirloom seeds.

I’m doing my best to focus on these things, to take one small joy & manage one small task at a time. Here are some small joys that I’d like to share with you:

  1. Terrain, first of all, is a gorgeous shop. (I mean, can I just buy their whole kitchen collection?) Secondly, they still have heirloom seeds to get your garden going! Hurry up.
  2. Got tahini for lots of hummus making (because it’s $5 a tub here & that’s i n s a n i t y). Then, I found this recipe for granola with tahini. Nom noms!
  3. One of my favorite blogs, Design*Sponge, has an amazing series: Living In. Nothing says summer to me like Dirty Dancing & To Kill a Mockingbird, so I was hooked when I saw their set for decorating your life to recall the movie. So many of them are real expressions of the coming seasons for me, from Dirty Dancing to one for my sister, The African Queen.
  4. I love Yelle, a French rapper who’s better when you don’t understand the words’ highly sexual meaning… but Safari Disco Club is great. As is the rest of this mixtape. Download it, c/o All Things Go Music
  5. Kiev: a video & music that perfectly express the coming spring.

Alright. A solid set of small things to celebrate, & back to work I go! See you Saturday.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to balance

  1. thebakeandbrew says:

    Yelle!
    So the first time I heard Yelle it was the song Mr le President (we discovered the name later)…except my friends and I could’ve sworn she just kept saying “I shot a lazy dog.”
    True story.

Leave a Reply

