life fail

So, I was supposed to bake something for today. Then my life looked something like this*:

I got up late. I made Joe drive me to class so that I could turn in an assignment. I finally made it home. I tried to drive to work.

Fail.

Our truck broke down. I’ve beeninsanely emotional this week, due to overscheduling myself & having obligations from 8 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. each day, which means me being stuck on the side of the road is prime time for me to have a total nervous breakdown.

But I didn’t. I called Joe & explained. I asked a guy parked in front of me, who ended up being a mechanic who worked on hybrids (Thanks, God), to help me out. He jumped the car, then explained that there were other things wrong because the batter wouldn’t even hold a charge long enough for me to put the truck in reverse.

I decided to capitalize on the situation & asked him about hybrids… then came home & spent the rest of the afternoon looking up used hybrids available in town. It was at about this moment that I realized something:

I hadn’t broken down, because I’d been relieved that the truck had broken down. I was sitting on the bed, looking at used cars, waiting for the mechanic to call, to tell me the truck was a lost cause. Then he called. And he said the truck was fixed & should be fine. And I did this*:

I then failed to remember a group meeting, got there right at the end & remembered that a few hours later I had a dinner date with our friends’ family in town… where they made us chicken curry & I failed at Lent.

I celebrated the rest of International Women’s Day by planning out how we can buy a car. We’re really trying to be frugal, using the tried & true money-in-envelopes system I learned from my parents so that we have to face the cash we’re spending. I got really excited when I found this envelope template, which makes it more entertaining. Joe pointed out that we could just use a regular envelope & draw some “amount” lines on it if we really needed to. Whatever.

Over spring break (woohoo!) we’re also taking these steps:

  1. Switching to electronic bill statements where we can, since we’re green hypocrites. (What can I say? I like writing checks & sending mail.)
  2. Moving all of our savings & checking to a local credit union. (Yeah, cooperatives & local economies!)
  3. Hiding all of our credit cards.
  4. Stocking up on grains, root vegetables & the like to really go skimpy on the budget.

I’ve always enjoyed (never home)maker‘s recipes, so I was excited to see them dedicate a site more to this, writing chapter three. Their attempts at lowering their grocery bill have inspired me to lump our “entertainment” (usually drinks out & a pizza ordered in or impulsively buying food at our favorite café-restaurant when we stop for a mid-week coffee) into our food budget. And. use. cash. Don’t worry: I won’t post our grocery bills or anything, but I will let you know how epically we fail.

I apologize for all of the failures, apologies & flops on this blog. Your patience is wonderful. I’m trying really hard to go back to the schedule, to increase photography & to forgive myself for starting a project like this while in graduate school. (Bad, Megan! Bad!) Over spring break, I’ll get us back on track. I’ve eliminated a few obligations I have, resigned from some volunteer posts & really mapped out the four group project I need to complete by April 10.Bring it on, world!

See you Monday for a Meatless Monday resource guide.

*I apologize for the no credit. I have no idea where these came from.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to life fail

  1. Pingback: lent: the vegetarian returns | francofile

  2. thebakeandbrew says:

    I’m always so envious at how open & honest you are with your writing, and always I love reading about what’s going on in your life. I think both of us can be pretty hard on ourselves when we fall short of our own expectations, but really, I much prefer reading about someone sharing that aspect than reading about a picture perfect life 🙂 The online world makes it so easy to self-edit and create appearances, so it takes courage to “fail,” or miss a post, or show the blemished, but genuine side of ourselves.

    P.S. Car-wise, my two cents…I’m all for old Honda Civics…mine lasted 6 years with little to no maintenance. Incredible gas mileage (it was also a manual). It’s at 205k now and still kickin’

    • meganbetz says:

      We’ve been thinking about Civics as the non-hybrid option… and I’ve been DYING to learn how to drive a manual. (My dad had one for a while, & I drove about three times.) Can I hire you as our manual coach? We need it for when we move back to Europe. #wishfulthinking

      Glad to know you like the post! I always worry that people just think I’m complaining.

Leave a Reply

