visual learning

It has been a long day. At the end of each day, I love doing a bit of research, just for myself, when I’ve put all of my textbooks & assignments away. One of my best learning strategies  is visual learning. I feel like I can almost literally consume the information. I think infographics–their design, the details they choose to show, the way they stick with us–are fascinating. I love the diagram above & have used it various places before. Today, I wanted to see what was out there in terms of food infographics.

Here’s what I found:

I complain about GMOs a lot. A lot. I thought this, found on treehugger, had the key facts included. Namely only U.S. & Canada don’t require labeling of genetic modification.

This guy, this tricky bugger, is e v e r y w h e r e. All kinds of useful stuff to take in from this infographic by MedicalInsurance.org. My favorite bit? HFCS by any other name doth smell as sweet. Fructose. Fructose-glucose syrup. Corn syrup. Lots of diligence required to avoid HFCS.

Yay, organic! Found this one on Cool Infographics, but it’s originally from So Nice. So check them out, too. I know that organic is still more expensive than conventional–but you get what you pay for, and as with all things, you have to pay for your values. One of my favorite things about organics is that in most cases, the produce comes from (sometimes only marginally) smaller farms. That helps cut down on the 420 billion kg/year.

I LOVE THIS ONE, courtest of GOOD & Whole Foods. Definitely follow this link so you can click to enlarge it. The colors are fun & useful no matter where you are. As it says, food travels  an average of 1,500 miles before it gets to the table. Following the seasons & planting a bit of your own food can cut down that average.

I’ll close with one more GMO info graphic, this one much more educational. I don’t want to spoil it through summaries, but wow! On a mostly conventional diet, you eat 30,000 gmos a day.

Facebook is going insane with share & reshares. Postts & reposts. Pictures galore. So pick the infographic that speaks to you & share it with others. Have great sources of graphics or educational devices? I’d love to see them!

 

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being conscious and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to visual learning

  1. Joe B says:

    Really cool graphics!

Leave a Reply

