the second day of Christmas

On the second day of Christmas, the Betzes realized that they need to spend some time thinning out their apartment & making a big Goodwill donation before the holidays. To keep feeling lighter (& because we love the organizations), we’d love to give & receive gifts like Heifer International or Oxfam America Unwrapped.

We also love buying gifts for people. So. A pickle.

I’ll admit it: this year, we’re on a tiny budget. We’re trying to balance the carbon footprint of ordering everything online from sustainable, eco-focused companies with that of a one-stop shopping trip to the mall with very focused gifts that people had asked for or seemed to need.

We had to opt for the latter this year. I know. I know. It’s hypocritical. So I wanted to do my research in advance for all future gift buying, gathering “green” gift sources for myself & getting ideas. I know I’ve done gift lists before, but what this gift list should show you is that you don’t always have to make the choice between price & sustainability. Maybe it will inspire you to join me in my new years resolution: From here on out, at least half of my gift-giving will be from sustainable sources, & local where possible.

So, let’s do some last-minute gift-getting!

  • re:design is awesome! They have great things for the kitchen (like these fun bamboo bowls), great stuff for kids (like this adorable tea set made from recycled milk jugs).
  • I don’t know what it is about this, but I found this stainless steel three-part lunch box set to be pretty awesome & great for eating at the office. Maybe it’s just me, seeing as I was obsessed with my uncle’s old mess kit from Boy Scouts when I was little.
  • Patagonia is a company with a great mission (& a link to their used goods on the site as well, in the bottom left corner). Their clothes are great for hiking, camping, staying warm riding the bus or snuggling up on the couch for a Saturday–great for any adventure level!
  • What’s the perfect combination of two things I love? Gardening & wine! Okay, so there’s no drinking involved, but these Grow Bottles are a fun way to decorate a kitchen & grow herbs at the same time.
  • Gayla Trail is an urban gardening goddess, & I’ve learned so much from her. If you have a loved one who is getting into gardening, lives in a small space or, like me, has a tendency to kill things, her books can answer almost any question.
  • I love scarves, so I was excited to see some gorgeous ones on Earthlover. The scarves have a big price range, & Earthlover has a big variety of fair trade goods.
  • Green Feet has tons of fun stocking stuffers. These are random, as all good stocking stuffers should be, & just right for my price range.
  • Heirloom plants are incredibly important for food security & sustainability, plus they have crazy varieties & flavors that make gardens gorgeous. Places like Seed Savers Exchange spread the heirloom love. Get your green-thumbed friend some quality seeds & know they’ll be eating well come summer.
About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being conscious and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the second day of Christmas

  1. Pingback: 12 days of Christmas are coming! | francofile

  2. thebakeandbrew says:

    A year ago I bought a pair of Patagonia base layer pants, and a base layer long-sleeved shirt, and I can attest to how they are well-worth the small investment. (And how amazing they would be as presents) It’s great that some companies see producing high quality clothes like that as a sustainable business practice, because instead of buying new base layers every year now (as cheaper ones just fall apart and don’t do the job properly) I’ll have these for the rest of my life. And I’ll encourage people I know to do the same.

Leave a Reply

