the first day of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas, Francofile is celebrating the joy of homemade Christmas trees. My family has made a lot of holiday decorations together, & I have many memories tied to particular ornaments–from my mom’s dancing elves ornaments, made when she was in Girl Scouts, to the blue beauties she got me the Christmas before I got married so that I could begin decorating my new family tree.

note the difference in my mom's crafting level (purple) & my own (blue)

Nothing says the holidays to me like taking some time to do holiday crafts, & a few of my friends have shown me some great examples this year. (Plus, Pinterest is exploding with Christmas.) One of my incredibly talented friends (knitter, chair-fixer, wine-maker, professional baker…) pointed some of these out to me, & I went crazy looking at fun crafts for coming years. Here are some fun things to make your chilly afternoons merry & bright.

The Kids-Can-Help Christmas Tree

  • from Good Housekeeping, a simple, fabric-covered “kissing ball” with mistletoe (plus 6 other fun ideas)
  • from Christopher & Tia, yarn-wrapped, tiny wreaths
  • from Meed the Dubiens, the Model Magic take on traditional plaster of Paris ornaments (love those ornaments)

The Traditional Christmas Tree

  • from McCormick, cinnamon ornaments (just cinnamon & applesauce–who knew?!)
  • from Pecuniarities, fragile & elegant painted egg shells (obviously not a craft for me)
  • from the God of Crafts, simple citrus slices
  • and again from Martha Stewart, “snowy balloon ornaments” (let me know if you get these to work, as I’ve failed several times)
  • from HoftheHH, how to make a (lasting, successful) popcorn & cranberry garland

The Cute Crafts I Don’t Have Time For (but hope you do)

  • from House Revivals, snowflakes from strips of books or newspaper pages
  • darn you, Martha Stewart–cute wreaths of woven ribbon
  • from Betz White, awesome felt ogees
  • from pilli pilli, a great idea for using up my extra muslin & increasing my embroidery skills
  • from curbly, an awesome button-covered ornament

I will never buy ornaments again! So much fun to be had. Enjoy.

About meganbetz

human geography PhD Student at Indiana University; wife, reader, writer, baker, gardener
This entry was posted in being married, other aspects of my life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the first day of Christmas

  1. Pingback: 12 days of Christmas are coming! | francofile

  2. Heidi Lim says:

    Iris and I have made several of these and will be making more today. Thanks for all the great ideas.

    • meganbetz says:

      So glad to hear it! I’d love to know which ones you did–or if you have others to suggest.

      • Heidi Lim says:

        We tried the buttons on styrofoam ball, the fabric-covered balls, the yarn wreaths, the felt ogees, and the snowy balloon. Re: the last item, I didn’t do the glitter step, but it mostly worked. The only problem was that the balloon I used was too big so it was still too thick when I blew it up to an adequate size, which meant it was hard to pop, especially with the glue all over it. But it worked. Thanks again. We had fun.

      • meganbetz says:

        So much fun Christmas crafting! I’m glad the balloon bit worked out–I’m really wanting to try those.

Leave a Reply

